h1

#2 – Rest Days

3 April 2007

I’m sitting here eating some chocolate when normally I would be running! This past week I’ve dealt with a lingering cold and soreness in my left hip, so even though it burns me to do this I decided to take a day off. It’s no fun right now – the devil on my shoulder keeps whispering to go run – but logically I know that this will be good for me in the long term.

It might seem oxymoronic to write about not running in a blog devoted to finding reasons to run, but the truth is that if you don’t listen to your body and rest when necessary, an injury will trump any other reason to actually run.

Cal Ripkin had a great career and The Streak was truly impressive, but even when I was a kid I would wonder just how good he could’ve been if he’d allowed his minor injuries to heal for a game or two rather than play through them.

I guess it comes down to what you want. Do you want to string together daily runs and move up the ranks of the Running Streak List? Not me. I admit that those streaks are cool, but for me I have other priorities with my running. Besides, you don’t see many world class runners on that list!

Leave a Reply

