h1

#5 – Discover New Trails

9 April 2007

Sometimes a sour turn of events can result in something unexpectedly sweet. Today I was forced to miss my group run during lunch at work due to an “important” teleconference with our customer at which we concluded that the issue that required my presence was in fact a non-issue.

While waiting for that meeting to start I was surfing the local North Country Trail website (when I ran the NCT yesterday I noticed some new signposts with updated maps and I was searching for those maps). As can happen with the web I stumbled upon the Land Conservancy of West Michigan and discovered that they have preserved some land just a few miles from my house! I decided to leave work a bit early and explore its trails.

The Bradford Dickinson White Nature Preserve is a 45-acre patch of wooded lowland with a marked trail and a parking lot big enough for just four cars. Based on the preserve’s size I figured the trail wouldn’t be very long but it sure beats running alone on the sidewalks!

I set off at a medium pace and immediately had to start hurdling logs across the trail – nothing difficult to clear and in fact it made the run much more fun. While lifting my feet I also had to be mindful of my head, frequently ducking low-hanging branches. Along with these enjoyable obstacles the trail surface was in great condition – soft, leaf-covered ground with many slopes, twists and turns. Some of the turns were so sharp and narrow that I rubbed shoulders with a few trees!

Impressively this trail is roughly half a mile long, resulting in a quick and exciting one-mile round trip that covers a lot of features in its short span. Trees ranged from 50-foot red pines down to whip-like saplings of birch and maple. The trail crosses a sandy stream at the beginning, climbs a good sized hill then descends to follow the stream before gradually ending near a major road.

To get my miles in I ran the trail once, then ran and out-and-back along a nearby dirt road (where ironically, I passed a crew cutting down some trees), then ran the trail one last time. Fittingly during my final trip along the trail it began to snow! Yes, it’s April but it’s still snowing here in west Michigan.

Leave a Reply

