h1

#7 – Do Something Crazy

11 April 2007

Official season: Spring

Official weather: 32 degrees, 30 mph winds, heavy snowfall

If the weather wasn’t already crazy enough, I trumped Mother Nature by going running – in shorts – out in this stuff! Crazier yet, all four of my regular running co-workers showed up for today’s lunch-hour run ready to hit the streets. I wasn’t the only one wearing shorts, and one guy had no hat or gloves but cleverly wore his work socks on his hands.

When we began our 5-mile route the snow had just started falling and a 1/4″ coated the sidewalks. We remarked now nice and soft the concrete felt with this frosty padding, and soon the discussion turned to global warming and how Mount Tambora‘s 1815 eruption had some crazy effects on the weather in 1816. As far as I know, today’s weather wasn’t caused by volcanic ash in the atmosphere!

Our route is C-shaped… it begins heading south, turns west, then north, where we turn around and thus face south, east, and finally north. I mention this because the howling east wind stung our faces (and bare legs for a couple of us) with an incessant stream of ice pellets. The crosswind legs of our route weren’t too bad, and the downwind was rather comfortable, but mile 3.5-4.5 faced us directly into what felt like the onslaught of medieval longbow men.

My instinct was to raise my sword and charge, attacking the wind – I upped the pace considerably and battled onward. One of the guys joined me and boy, what a fight! He had no eye protection and the ice pellets were stinging his eyeballs and loading freezing mascara onto his eyelashes. I was wearing clear-lens sunglasses but they didn’t help much – the inside of the lens fogged up while the outside was completely covered in sticky snow that I had to wipe off every minute. We could barely see the sidewalk!

We didn’t give up. The harder we ran, the sooner we’d be out of the ferocious headwind. It seemed like forever, but we finally reached the intersection in 7:30! That’s fast for us, especially given the conditions. Once we hit the 5 mile mark, we turned around to pick up the rest of the guys who kept a more sane pace, then all five of us fearless warriors finished together, completely covered in snow. I had so much snow in my hair that when I ran my hand through it, I grabbed enough of the white stuff to make a snowball! The 1/4″ ground cover had become over 2″ deep when we finished – our tracks from the start of the run were no longer visible less than an hour later!

We must’ve been an impressive sight. During the entire run motorists were honking at us and a few rolled down their windows to shout encouragement. We wondered, though, how many of those honking drivers were saying “Way to go! You guys are hard core!” vs. “Get back indoors you crazy freaks!”

I may be a crazy freak, but when Nature puts on a show that is as amazing as it is rare, I’m going to be outdoors… and running!

Leave a Reply

