h1

#10 – Learn to Exercise Prudence

21 April 2007

It’s Saturday morning and I’m signed up for the Striders Saturday Classic 10-mile race. Sadly, I’m sitting here writing this entry instead. Why? I’ve decided to be conservative and rest a minor injury.

Last Sunday I ran 16 miles exploring the countryside, then Monday I ran 6 miles; after the Monday run my left achilles became quite stiff and sore. It seemed OK during the run but when trying to stretch out afterward, I had far less range of motion. Even walking was difficult the rest of the day.

Fortunately Tuesday it felt great and I even got through softball practice with no problems. So Wednesday I set out for a 5 mile run and after one mile the achilles got stiff again. I should’ve stopped right then, but I was running someone and didn’t want to leave him hanging, so I toughed it out. Oops. The stiffness and soreness returned.

This time I hadn’t regained full range of motion by Thursday, a day later. Still, I went to softball practice and survived, but this time I could notice that my ankle wasn’t 100%. By Friday the range of motion was back to normal, but not without a feeling of tightness when pushed to the limit.

Alas, reasoning that 10 racing miles on the road would bring the problem back as bad as ever, I decided last night to skip the race. My ankle feels good now, but if it’s only “Tuesday good” then trying to run 10 miles could lead to a more severe injury. What a bummer – I was really looking forward to this race as Striders puts on good events and the course is reputed to be quite hilly. I even got a cool bib number: 88. Reminds me of a certain quote from Back to the Future! “When this baby hits 88 miles per hour…”

I believe I made the right decision, but it’s not easy to pass up a fun race, especially when I currently feel OK and could probably have finished. Further straining my achilles, however, could have grounded my running ways for a long time.

One comment

  1. […] got to run the Striders Classic 10 mile road race.  Last year I was signed up to run but wisely decided to withdraw due to a minor achilles injury.  Ironically I’m currently recovering from a different […]



Leave a Reply

