h1

#13 – Running at Dawn

15 May 2007

Generally I’m an afternoon runner, but this morning I woke up at 5:30am to enjoy a nice run at dawn. What a morning! The air temperature was already 71 degrees despite the sun still being asleep. There was enough light to not need a headlamp, but I wore my taillight for any drowsy motorists. My dog Haven came with me, outfitted with her own Bling Bling Blinker to alert the drivers.

We had a great run! I chose my pace at random – sometimes I ran hard, sometimes easy, and sometimes at just a moderate cruising pace. The wind was blowing quite fast – a rarity for early morning hours – but that’s probably why the air was so warm: a heated mass of atmosphere was being drawn across the area. Haven and I awakened some snoozing ducks and geese along the river, including some fuzzy goslings.

It wasn’t all smooth sailing – the warm temps brought the bugs out early. I was forced to swallow one bug (ew!) and another got stuck in my eye. Nevertheless, after half an hour on the streets Haven and I were more than content with our dawn run!

Leave a Reply

