h1

#21 – Fire Hydrant Fartlek

24 June 2007

Usually when I run during lunch at work it’s at an easy pace, but Friday I was scheduled for a harder workout. I ran the same old five-mile route but this time I found a way to make it interesting – I fartlek’ed between each fire hydrant!

The sidewalk has fire hydrants stationed along it at near-regular intervals. After a five minute warm up, at the first hydrant I ran hard until the next one, where I slowed to an easy jog until the next hydrant, at which I ran hard again. It came out to about 30 seconds of hard running alternating with 45 seconds of easy jogging, over and over again. Boy did I get worn out!

Next time you grow tired of a routine running route, spice it up with a fartlek! If there are no fire hydrants, use driveways, telephone poles, streetlights or even trees to mark the “finish lines” for each of fast segments of a fartlek. This even works well for groups since each runner can go their own speed during the fast intervals and then allow everyone to regroup during the slow recovery.

Who says that only dogs can enjoy fire hydrants? 🙂

2 comments

  1. I think the fire hydrant idea is great especially since I work with them as a fireman.


  2. Great to hear from another west Michigan runner! There are certainly lots of hydrants out there along the sidewalks.



Leave a Reply

