h1

#33 – Run Races

8 October 2007

Finish of the 2007 Chicago Marathon

Photo from Wikipedia

The finish of the 2007 Chicago Marathon was absolutely THRILLING – here’s a video of those two runners sprinting for the finish. Ivuti wound up winning the race over Gharib by a scant fraction of a second. Can you imagine running your heart out for 26.2 miles and then having to sprint the last 1/4 mile? Wow. I love to finish races like this, by kicking hard for a short final stretch to nip somebody at the line, even though I’m never a contender for any placing.

Racing is fun. After all of my races – whether it’s a 5K or 50-miler – my mood is elevated for at least the rest of the day. I can’t explain why, but there’s something exciting about being part of a race and not just going for a run. Maybe that seems superficial, but for me it works.

Next up on my calendar is the Harvest Hustle 5K in my hometown; in fact the race course passes within a couple hundred feet of my house! The steep hill up which I sometimes run repeats is part of the opening mile of this race so it’s going to be a painful couple miles after making the climb.

Just a week later my dog Haven will be joining me for the Bailey’s Doggie Dash 5K, a race that I’ve run the two previous years. It’s always one of my favorites, if not my very favorite race. It’s such a treat to run a race with my most frequent training partner as well as meeting lots of other furry friends and their owners. Usually it’s a very scenic time of year but this year’s drought has stressed the trees into dropping their leaves early, so it might not be as pretty as in previous races.

Those aren’t the only two races left on my calendar for this year, but I still haven’t decided what else to run. Know of a fun event in Michigan?

Leave a Reply

