h1

#40 – Frazz Understands

28 November 2007

Back in April the inaugural article on this blog was about heartbeats and life expectancy and it has been one of the most popular posts ever since. The concept that we may have a finite odometer attached to our heart is a fascinating one, and it’s one of the best motivations to get out there and run.

FrazzJef Mallet, the creator of the comic strip Frazz, understands this motivation. Mallet is a devoted endurance athlete and that aspect of himself is projected onto Frazz, the main character in his comics. In the October 28th Sunday edition, Frazz explains why burning up your heartbeats in training can lead to a longer life expectancy.

Does this mean that Mallet was one of the readers of my blog? While I’d love to be a source of anyone’s inspiration, evidence in the Sunday comic indicates that Mallet probably got the idea from an article about the theory of aging by the Santa Fe Institute.

If you haven’t heard of Frazz, check it out, especially if you’re a runner or other endurance junkie. You can probably identify with a lot of topics in the comic; my favorite one I sadly can’t find anymore, but it mirrored a conversation I once had with my brother Ryan that went something like this:

Ryan: Did you go running today?
me: Yeah, but I only did an easy three miles.
Ryan: “Easy” and “three miles” make no sense together!
me: But I was running slowly!
Ryan: “Running” is shooting a layup. Anything measured in miles is too far.

ManateeThe actual Frazz comic is way funnier because it mentions a manatee. I should clarify that Ryan is quite athletic – the only thing he and a manatee have in common is that they’re both intrinsically funny – but he only runs within the confines of a basketball or tennis court. I guess that still counts…

One comment

  1. See midway down the page at
    http://hitthetrails.wordpress.com/2010/02/26/what-would-frazz-do/



Leave a Reply

