h1

#45 – New Year, New Running Log

11 January 2008

Andrew and Haven during a trail run

No, not that kind of running log! Haven imitates a mountain goat during our trail run.

If you read my 2007 running stats then it was pretty obvious that I am one of many runners who tracks my training in some type of log. I used to think that my running log was fairly sophisticated – after all, I track my dogs’ miles, too! – but it pales in comparison to the running log developed by David Hays.

Being an engineer of my generation (growing up in the 1980’s) it should be no surprise that my running log is maintained in a spreadsheet on my computer. It started out innocently enough with just three columns: date, distance, time. I soon added a comments column, another for the weather, another for the route I ran, and, well, you get the idea. My running log now sports 17 columns and tracks road and trail miles, miles with dogs, miles per shoe, and calculates lots of averages and totals.

17 columns is nothing… How about 17 sheets of tracking? That’s what David Hays developed for his running log spreadsheet that can only be described as “wow”. A colleague pointed me to his site last fall and now I’m trying to use this impressive log for 2008. It’s somewhat complex and takes a while climb the learning curve but the potential for insightful graphs, charts, and summaries is hard to ignore. Some highlights of this running log include:

  • Weekly, monthly, yearly, and lifetime totals calculated and graphed automatically
  • Graphs of your running broken down by type (e.g. race, speedwork, long run, etc.)
  • Tracking of the mileage on your shoes
  • Heart rate tracking and calculation of your %max HR for each run
  • A training plan that automatically shows your actual progress compared to the plan
  • Pace calculators and a pace predictor
  • A graph showing you how close you are to running around the world or to the moon!

I can’t imagine how much work went into this running log but it’s pretty impressive. I’m modifying his spreadsheet to add the ability to track my dogs’ mileage but I haven’t quite figured it out yet. I’ll have to keep using my running log for the time being but hopefully this old dog will soon learn some new spreadsheet tricks!

2 comments

  1. Haven is a witty girl about the running log. Hehe

    One invaluable column I kept on my running log was what I wear in the varied winter weather. I still refer back to those records. Now what do I wear when it’s 20 degrees and no wind? With wind? (big difference).


  2. That’s a great idea! Do you also record how warm/cold you felt? I do record the weather for my runs, including temperature, cloud cover, wind speed and direction, and any precipitation.



Leave a Reply

