h1

#47 – Making Tracks

20 January 2008
Snowy Trail

Making Tracks in the Snow on the North Country Trail

Two weeks ago I was running  in 55 degree weather; today when I stepped outside it was a frigid 12 degrees!  There’s a saying that there’s no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothing.  Heeding those words I dressed in three layers – a wicking base layer, a fleece middle layer, and a windbreaking nylon outer layer – and tackled the subzero wind chills head on.

It worked – I felt toasty warm for the entire hour that I was out on the North Country Trail and was glad I made the effort to get out for a run.  Although the wind was strong out in the open, the heavily wooded trails provided cover from the icy blast.  However, it was still cold enough for the eyelashes on the outer corners of my eyes to freeze together!

One fun aspect to running in the snow is seeing the tracks of those who traveled before me.  Early on I spied some paw prints from a large dog accompanied by small human boots.  Crossing a road into a more remote section of trail the human presence disappeared but my footprints had the company of a set of deer tracks.

Later on the deer veered off trail and I smiled – the trail ahead of me was untouched by the feet of any animal.  I was making the first tracks!  For about half a mile I enjoyed this “solitude” when a new set of tracks joined the trail.  I first I thought it was the paws of a medium sized dog but as I continued along the trail there were no human tracks to be seen.  Those weren’t dog tracks, they were the tracks of a coyote!

They were somewhat fresh, too – at least within the last 12 hours – but they were headed in the opposite direction so I wouldn’t get the chance to meet this wild canine.   On the way back home I did spook a trio of deer that spooked me as well – I never saw them until they started running away.

All told I ran for over an hour, the first time I’d done that since 08 October 2007!  Boy did that feel good, and my hamstring didn’t complain at all.

3 comments

  1. […] human and animal tracks in the snow over a winter […]


  2. […] Run? Counting off the endless reasons to go running! « #47 – Making Tracks #48 – Understand the Value of Snowshoes 28 January […]


  3. […] #49 – Screw Shoes 4 February 2008 When I noticed that my last two entries were about making tracks in deep snow, I realized that I should share what kind of shoes I prefer for winter running: screw […]



Leave a Reply

