h1

#52 – Running from the Scene of the Crime

27 March 2008
Masked Dogs

When you go out for a run, you never know what you’re going to find.  Last evening after work I took advantage of the 49-degree, sunny weather and headed out for a nice jog.  Upon reaching Main Street I noticed that the police had closed off a section of the road.  An officer instructed me, the pedestrian runner, to take the detour!  I asked him what’s going on and he mumbled a couple words that sounded like “crane drop”.

I noticed a large crane over at the flour mill and while it appeared to be intact and functional, the officer’s comments had me wondering if a crane accident had occurred, reminiscent of the collapses in New York and Miami.  As I finished the detour loop and popped back out on Main Street, though, I observed that the crane was outside the closed-off area.  Hmmm.

Poor Amanda had to drive the detour when she came home – cars were backing up enough that at times I was out-pacing them with my blazing 9-minute miles.  That’s what you call “ludicrous speed“! 🙂

Finally home, Amanda was able to find out what happened: there had been a bank robbery on Main Street!  The perpetrator left behind a bomb that turned out to be fake, but during my run was when the bomb squad was checking it out.  Apparently the officer I encountered had said “bank robbery” and not “crane drop”.  One cool thing in the news story is that they interviewed Chief Valentine, who happens to be one of my neighbors.  Good job, Jim!

The funniest thing about the robbery (if crimes can be funny) is that the bank robber fled the scene on a bicycle!  The news anchor in the video clip refers to it as the “get-away bike”.  If it was a tandem bike would the other guy be called the “get-away pedaler”?

3 comments

  1. Thanks for the laughs!


  2. You’ve gone Plaid! I love Spaceballs!


  3. Glad to see you guys enjoyed this!

    Subsequent news reports showed footage from security cameras – the robber was wearing his bike helmet! I wonder if he was counting on the power of the Schwartz to evade capture?



Leave a Reply

